These Violent Delights Book 1

These Violent Delights Book 1

Regular price £8.99 Sale price£8.45 Save 6%
/
Tax included.

  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way
  • Free Delivery on UK orders over £70
  • Discreet Packaging

RELEASE DATE - 11 NOVEMBER 2021

A wonderful remake with a gay man and trans girl main characters.

In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens . . .

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery. A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in chaos.

Juliette Cai is the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang - a network of criminals far above the law.

Roma Montagov is the prodigal son of her greatest rivals, the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. He is also Juliette's first love . . . and first betrayal.

When a deadly madness strikes gangsters on both sides, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, and a monster in the shadows. And as the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns - and grudges - aside and work together.

For if they can't stop this mayhem, there will be no city left to rule.

Filled with romance, intrigue and betrayal, this heart-stopping fantasy retelling of Romeo and Juliet is perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane.

"A deliciously dark twist on Romeo and Juliet that feels vibrant, modern, and wholly exciting. Gong's writing brims with energy. I was swept away to her dark Shanghai from the first page and never wanted to leave!"
Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

"Heady, smart, and vicious, 
These Violent Delights strikes every note with precision, layering romance and politics into a roaring 20s Shanghai of both monsters and monstrous imperialism."
Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear

"Chloe Gong's These Violent Delights plants a Shakespearean classic in the rich soil of 1920s Shanghai, allowing her characters to grow, flourish, and steal your heart while warring against their own."
Joan He, author of Descendant of the Crane

    Author Chloe Gong
    Format Paperback
    Pages 464
    ISBN 9781529344530

    ROYAL MAIL STRIKES DURING NOVEMBER & DECEMBER 2022 WILL DELAY DELIVERIES. THE LATEST UPDATE ON THE STRIKE DATES CAN BE VIEWED HERE.

    UK Orders

    Takes approximately 1-3 working days to arrive, (but can take longer during busy periods like bank holidays or Pride Month)

    Orders under £40 can't be tracked, but do have a barcode on which Royal Mail scan on delivery.

    Orders over £40 are sent with full tracking.

    International Orders

    Some international orders arrive in around 5 days (mostly to Europe) and some take 2 months.

    There are also sometimes customs delays.

    We can not be held responsible if your order does not arrive for a certain date.

    Find out more about deliveries in the UK here.

    Find out more about deliveries to the EU here.

    Find out more about deliveries to the rest of the world (non-EU) here.

    We understand that some people need to be discreet. Everything we send out is in plain packaging with no reference to Gay Pride Shop.


    Recently viewed