Girl Mans Up Book

Girl Mans Up Book

Regular price £7.99 Sale price£7.19 Save 10%
/
Tax included.

  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

Reading level - 14 years and up.

Lambda Literary Award Winner! “Pen is an inspiration to anyone who’s struggled to be understood, and a vital addition to the growing world of genderqueer protagonists.” —New York Times Book Review

All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl she’s always been. So why does everyone have a problem with it?

They think the way she looks and acts means she’s trying to be a boy—that she should quit trying to be something she’s not. If she dresses like a girl, and does what her folks want, it will show respect. If she takes orders and does what her friend Colby wants, it will show her loyalty.

But respect and loyalty, Pen discovers, are empty words. Old-world parents, disintegrating friendships, and strong feelings for other girls drive Pen to see the truth—that in order to be who she truly wants to be, she’ll have to man up.

Now available in paperback, M. E. Girard’s Girl Mans Up is perfect for fans of Meredith Russo, Becky Albertalli, Alex Sanchez, and Jaye Robin Brown!

Entertainment Weekly Best YA Book of 2016 * Children’s Book Council Books Best Book of 2016 * Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Coming-of-Age Novel of 2016 and Best Teen Book of 2016 with Unforgettable Protagonists * Publishers Weekly Fall 2016 Flying Starts * William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist

“A powerful book about identity, belonging, and the collision between sexuality and cultural expectations.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“This is a fresh title in the growing sea of LGBTQ YA literature. There is no sugarcoating in this very real portrayal of an aspect of teen life that many experience. Recommended for fans of YA urban fiction as well as those who prefer grittier LGBTQ lit.”
School Library Journal (starred review)

“Fierce. Tender. Unstoppable.”
Lauren Myracle, New York Times bestselling author of The Infinite Moment of Us and co-author of How to Be Bad

“Original. Courageous. Vibrant.”
Michael Cart, Columnist at ALA Booklist and Former President of Young Adult Library Services Michael Cart, Editor of Taking Aim and How Beautiful the Ordinary

“Heartfelt. Refreshing. True.”
Ariel Schrag, author of Potential and Adam

“I loved it. A brilliant new writer to watch.”
Malinda Lo, author of Ash, Adaptation, and Inheritance and co-founder of Diversity in YA

“Respeito for Pen.”
Sara Ryan, Award winning author of Empress of the World and Bad Houses

Author M-E Girard
Format Paperback
Pages 400
ISBN 9780062404183

UK Orders

Takes approximately 1-3 working days to arrive, (but can take longer during busy periods like bank holidays or Pride Month)

Orders under £40 can't be tracked, but do have a barcode on which Royal Mail scan on delivery.

Orders over £40 are sent with full tracking.

International Orders

Some international orders arrive in around 5 days (mostly to Europe) and some take 2 months.

There are also sometimes customs delays.

We can not be held responsible if your order does not arrive for a certain date.

Find out more about deliveries in the UK here.

Find out more about deliveries to the EU here.

Find out more about deliveries to the rest of the world (non-EU) here.

We understand that some people need to be discreet. Everything we send out is in plain packaging with no reference to Gay Pride Shop.


Recently viewed