Hullmetal Girls Book

Hullmetal Girls Book

Regular price £15.99 Sale price£13.99 Save 13%
/
Tax included.

  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

Reading level - 14 to 17 years.

For fans of Pierce Brown and Rhoda Belleza, here is epic space adventure full of action, heart and two kick-butt heroines.

Aisha Un-Haad would do anything for her family. When her brother contracts a plague, she knows her janitor's salary isn't enough to fund his treatment. So she volunteers to become a Scela, a mechanically enhanced soldier sworn to protect and serve the governing body of the Fleet, the collective of starships they call home. If Aisha can survive the harrowing modifications and earn an elite place in the Scela ranks, she may be able to save her brother.

Key Tanaka awakens in a Scela body with only hazy memories of her life before. She knows she's from the privileged end of the Fleet, but she has no recollection of why she chose to give up a life of luxury to become a hulking cyborg soldier. If she can make it through the training, she might have a shot at recovering her missing past.

In a unit of new recruits vying for top placement, Aisha's and Key's paths collide, and the two must learn to work together--a tall order for girls from opposite ends of the Fleet. But a rebellion is stirring, pitting those who yearn for independence from the Fleet against a government struggling to maintain unity.

With violence brewing and dark secrets surfacing, Aisha and Key find themselves questioning their loyalties. They will have to put aside their differences, though, if they want to keep humanity from tearing itself apart.

"Filled with badass girls and epic adventures...this one's guaranteed to take you on a ride."
Buzzfeed

"From the badass cybernetics to the space opera politics, there is so much to adore about Hullmetal Girls. It's a captivating sci-fi adventure that will make you fall madly for Skrutski's fabulous writing, if you haven't already. [Perfect] for fans of: Cindy Pon (Want) and Pierce Brown (Red Rising)."
Paste

"An unexpected and clever story that is difficult to put down. Skrutskie's cast of characters, including the adults, is very well developed...[as they] unravel the mystery at the heart of their society....A great science fiction story."
VOYA, Starred Review
Near perfection. -Bulletin

"[An] exciting standalone...full of shifting allegiances...[and] ethnically diverse main characters with a range of sexual identities."
SLJ

"An engaging narrative with a complex cast that intersects race, sexual identity, religion, and class."
Kirkus Reviews

"Emily Skrutskie's complex, space-based post-apocalyptic world is...a gripping and intelligent young adult read."
Shelf Awareness

Author Emily Skrutskie
Format Hardback
Pages
320
ISBN 9781524770198

UK Orders

Takes approximately 1-3 working days to arrive, (but can take longer during busy periods like bank holidays or Pride Month)

Orders under £40 can't be tracked, but do have a barcode on which Royal Mail scan on delivery.

Orders over £40 are sent with full tracking.

International Orders

Some international orders arrive in around 5 days (mostly to Europe) and some take 2 months.

There are also sometimes customs delays.

We can not be held responsible if your order does not arrive for a certain date.

Find out more about deliveries in the UK here.

Find out more about deliveries to the EU here.

Find out more about deliveries to the rest of the world (non-EU) here.

We understand that some people need to be discreet. Everything we send out is in plain packaging with no reference to Gay Pride Shop.


Recently viewed