Girls Can Kiss Now - Essays Book

Girls Can Kiss Now - Essays Book

Regular price £10.99 Sale price£9.99 Save 9%
/
Tax included.

  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

RELEASE DATE - 28 APRIL 2022

Named One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2022 byVogue, BuzzFeed, Bustle, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, ElectricLit, Thrillist, Glamour, CNN, and Shondaland

“Wickedly funny and heartstoppingly vulnerable…every page twinkles with brilliance.”
Refinery29

Perfect for fans of Samantha Irby and Trick Mirror, a funny, whip-smart collection of personal essays exploring the intersection of queerness, relationships, pop culture, the internet, and identity, introducing one of the most undeniably original new voices today.

Jill Gutowitz’s life—for better and worse—has always been on a collision course with pop culture. There’s the time the FBI showed up at her door because of something she tweeted about 
Game of Thrones. The pop songs that have been the soundtrack to the worst moments of her life. And of course, the pivotal day when Orange Is the New Black hit the airwaves and broke down the door to Jill’s own sexuality. In these honest examinations of identity, desire, and self-worth, Jill explores perhaps the most monumental cultural shift of our lifetimes: the mainstreaming of lesbian culture. Dusting off her own personal traumas and artefacts of her not-so-distant youth she examines how pop culture acts as a fun house mirror reflecting and refracting our values—always teaching, distracting, disappointing, and revealing us.

Girls Can Kiss Now is a fresh and intoxicating blend of personal stories, sharp observations, and laugh-out-loud humour. This timely collection of essays helps us make sense of our collective pop-culture past even as it points the way toward a joyous, uproarious, near—and very queer—future.

“Fresh and witty.” —Vogue

“Compulsively readable.” —The Skimm, 9 Can’t-Miss Books to Read This Spring

“Gutowitz maps the current lesbian canon with a lot of humor and more than a few wonderful, and wonderfully mortifying, personal anecdotes.” —Wired

“Comedy gold…If you were to mark every single funny thing in this book, you would mark the entire book.”—Isaac Fitzgerald, Today

“Ever-hilarious and insightful...Gutowitz explores how lesbianism went mainstream.” —Bustle, The Most Anticipated Books Of 2022

“Between every one-liner and guffaw, Gutowitz delivers not just herself, but universal truths everyone can relate to.” —USA Today

“[A] thrilling excavation of lesbian pop culture... a perfect combination of humour and sincerity, of wit, self-deprecation, and most importantly, self-love.” —Associated Press

Author Jill Gutowitz
Format Paperback
Pages
240
ISBN 9781982158507

UK Orders

Takes approximately 1-3 working days to arrive, (but can take longer during busy periods like bank holidays or Pride Month)

Orders under £40 can't be tracked, but do have a barcode on which Royal Mail scan on delivery.

Orders over £40 are sent with full tracking.

International Orders

Some international orders arrive in around 5 days (mostly to Europe) and some take 2 months.

There are also sometimes customs delays.

We can not be held responsible if your order does not arrive for a certain date.

Find out more about deliveries in the UK here.

Find out more about deliveries to the EU here.

Find out more about deliveries to the rest of the world (non-EU) here.

We understand that some people need to be discreet. Everything we send out is in plain packaging with no reference to Gay Pride Shop.


Recently viewed