The Seep Book

The Seep Book

Regular price £7.99
/
Tax included.

A blend of searing social commentary and speculative fiction, Chana Porter's fresh, pointed debut is perfect for fans of Jeff VanderMeer and Carmen Maria Machado.

Plus never-before-seen short story featuring an expanded ending to the novel...

Trina Goldberg-Oneka is a fifty-year-old trans woman whose life is irreversibly altered in the wake of a gentle but nonetheless world-changing invasion by an alien entity called The Seep. Through The Seep, everything is connected. Capitalism falls, hierarchies and barriers are broken down; if something can be imagined, it is possible.

Trina and her wife, Deeba, live blissfully under The Seep's utopian influence until Deeba begins to imagine what it might be like to be reborn as a baby, which will give her the chance at an even better life. Using Seeptech to make this dream a reality, Deeba moves on to a new existence, leaving Trina devastated.

Heartbroken and deep into an alcoholic binge, Trina follows a lost boy she encounters, embarking on an unexpected quest. In her attempt to save him from The Seep, she will confront not only one of its most avid devotees, but the terrifying void that Deeba has left behind. A strange new elegy of love and loss, The Seep explores grief, alienation, and the ache of moving on.

 

A unique alien invasion story that focuses on the human and the myriad ways we see and don t see our own world. Mesmerising.
Jeff VanderMeer, award winning author of Dead Astronauts and the Borne trilogy

The standard canard is that utopian settings are boring, monolithic, didactic, and make for bad fiction. How lucky we are to have Chana Porter to blow such nonsense out of the water with this moving and beautiful book.
China Miéville

The psychedelics are coming! The psychedelics are coming! What if becoming one with the universe was as easy as drinking punch at a party? It turns out that after enlightenment, we still squabble with our partners, worry about fashion choices, and drink too much booze. A great speculative work combining first contact tropes, techno-utopian fantasy, gender theory, and ayahuasca fan fiction, Chana Porter's The Seep imagines a brave newer world by rewriting the question of the ancients: If all things return to the one, where does the one return to? Porter's dazzling trick answer updates Zhaozhou's: the bar.
Eugene Lim, author of Dear Cyborgs

With its wonderfully fraught utopia, the likes of which you have never seen before, The Seep defies not only the recent glut of dystopias, but the long-accepted categories of fiction. An entire universe gets packed into a slim page-turner, in which the search for meaning carries on even after our greatest desires are met.
Robert Repino, author of the War with No Name novels

In a time of dreary dystopias, Chana Porter's The Seep is that rarest of books: a genuine utopian hope of salvation. While the novel accomplishes this through an alien intervention, its message is not simply one of blind optimism, but a complex portrait of people struggling with change, fear, and ultimately hope. Porter shows us that the end of the world is easy. The beginning of the world is the real challenge.
Rachel Pollack, award-winning author of Godmother Night

Unlike anything you've ever read.
Bustle

Author Chana Porter
Format Paperback
Pages
272
ISBN 9781789095173

Need to be discreet? No problem! Everything is sent out in plain packaging.

Deliveries in the UK seem to be pretty much back to normal since the 20th May 2021. We only send things first class and 99% are arriving in 1 - 2 working days.

International orders are still taking longer, due to different country lockdowns, the increase in online shopping and the reduction of flights carrying cargo and deliveries around the world. You should expect international orders to take longer than normal, although many are arriving on time. Some international orders take 2 weeks, some take 2 months. That's just the way of the world at the moment.

We use Royal Mail for deliveries with a tracking barcode. Once an item is with Royal Mail, we're not able to track it until it's been delivered/signed for. 

We can not be held responsible if your order does not arrive for a certain date.

Find out more about deliveries in the UK here.

Find out more about deliveries to the EU here.

Find out more about deliveries to the rest of the world (non-EU) here.

You may also like


Recently viewed